Our Story

How it all began...

Mount Carmel Baptist Church began as the White Pine Sunday School class, which first met on September 29, 1946.

On June 26, 1947, the people voted to become a fully cooperating Baptist Sunday School.

On August 31, 1947, the now Mount Carmel Baptist Church called their first pastor, Burl E. Grubb.

Through the years...

In November, 1947, Mount Carmel paid $200 for a lot on which to build their first building.

Between 1948 - 1950, the building was built.
In 1953, the belfry was added.
In 1956, the bell was purchased.
In 1960, an addition to the building was built.
Through the 70s and 80s more classrooms were added and adjacent land purchased for parking.

With the church continuing to grow, there was a need for a much larger building. After many years of praying, in 1989, a longtime member, Wanda Eidson, donated 5 acres of land to build a new building. Between 2001 and 2002, the current building was constructed. 

Where we are now...

God's people at Mount Carmel have been faithful to pay off and renovate this new facility. It stands as a beacon in the community and has become home to many.

It is here that we gather on the Lord's Day and in His Name. It is here where we hear the Word preached and are challenged to grow in Christ. It is here where we are equipped for missions and ministry. It is here where new believers are baptized, couples are wed, and babies are rocked. We love this place and you will too.

Be a part of our story...

Join us every Sunday as we gather to worship together a 9:30 am and 11 am.